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Extended Guardianship and 
Adoption Assistance

Two additional programs under LB 216 extend 
assistance for young adults who entered into a 
guardianship or were adopted after age 16. 

Young people who entered into a guardianship 
with a licensed relative at age 16 or older, had 
a guardianship agreement, and are meeting one 
of the education or work requirements outlined 
at right will be eligible to receive Medicaid 
coverage and extended guardianship subsidies 
until age 21.  If the guardianship was not with 
a licensed relative, young adults will be eligible 
to receive extended guardianship subsidies 
through a state extended guardianship program 
to the extent possible with existing funds.  

Young people who were adopted at age 16 
or older will receive Medicaid coverage and 
extended adoption subsidies. 

Extended Services & Support
Participation Requirements 

•	 Adjudication under §43-247(3)(a) and in 
an out-of-home placement at age 19 or 
discharged to independent living. This 
includes young adults who were dually 
adjudicated. 

•	 Young adults must be doing at least one 
of the following activities (1) completing 
secondary education, (2) enrolled in post-
secondary education, (3) employed at least 
80 hours per month, (4) participating in 
a program or activity to remove barriers 
to employment, or (5) unable to do any of 
these because of a medical condition. 	

Services for Young Adults

•	 Medicaid coverage

•	 Continued foster care maintenance 
payments for housing support

•	 Age-appropriate, young adult-driven case 
management services

•	 Case reviews and permanency hearings to 
evaluate progress toward meeting goals.  

Steps to Obtaining Services

•	 Young adults who wish to receive services 
will sign a voluntary services and support 
agreement with the department.  

•	 Eligible young adults can opt in and/
or out of the program any time after 
turning 19 and before turning 21.  

•	 The department must provide 
information yearly to potentially eligible 
youth beginning at age 16 and 90 days 
prior to the youth’s final court review.  

Young people aging out of foster care face a 
number of negative outcomes in adulthood.  
Only 2% finish college, and 50% experience 
homelessness.  Extending voluntary services and 
support to those who age out of foster care can 
help increase the percentage of those who earn 
a college degree, cut their rates of homelessness, 
and lessen the risk of incarceration.  

Program Description
LB 216, now called the Bridge to Independence 
program, was passed by the Nebraska Legislature in 
June of 2013.  It extends services and support to age 21 
for young people aging out of foster care.  The purpose 
of this program is to provide voluntary, young 
adult-driven services to improve the outcomes of 
young people in Nebraska.  This program is a state 
option under the Federal Fostering Connections 
Act and will allow Nebraska to draw down federal 
funding.  
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Important Timelines for the Court
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Court’s Role
The Court has jurisdiction to review the 
voluntary services and support agreement 
signed by the young adult.  Within 180 
days of the signing of the agreement, the 
court shall open an extended services and 
support file for the young adult to determine 
whether the program is in the young adult’s 
best interests and to conduct permanency 
hearings.  

Permanency Review

The court shall conduct a permanency review 
hearing once a year (or at the young adult’s 
request) to ensure that the young adult is 
getting the needed services and support 
to move toward permanency and self-
sufficiency.  

The court shall consult with the young adult 
in an age-appropriate manner and support 
the active engagement of the young adult 
in key decisions.  The court shall determine 
whether the department is providing the 
appropriate services and support and may 
order the department to take action if the 
necessary services and support are not being 
provided.  

Court Appointed Attorney

The court may appoint an attorney for the 
young adult if the young adult desires.  The 
attorney’s representation of the young adult 
shall be client-directed.  The attorney shall 
protect the young adult’s legal rights and 
advocate for his or her wishes and goals.  A 
previously-appointed GAL may continue in a 
client-directed model of representation with 
the consent of the young adult. The court 
may also appoint a Court Appointed Special 
Advocate or continue the appointment of a 
previously-appointed CASA volunteer with 
the consent of the young adult.  

The department shall notify the young 
adult of the right to an attorney before 
entering into an agreement and at least 
60 days before each permanency and case 
review. The case reviewer shall also notify 
the young adult following each case review.    


