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LB 103-Witnesses and
Technology

* Ajudge, in any case with the consent of the
parties, may permit any witness who is to
be examined by oral examination to appear
by telephonic, videoconferencing, or
similar methods, with any costs thereof to
be taxed as costs.




LB 216
Young Adult Voluntary
Services and Support Act

Presentation to be provided by Sarah Helvey and Jenny Skala

LB 255
Sex Tratficking

Affirmative defense to prostitution allegation if such
person is under the age of 18

A police officer may take such person into custody “and
shall immediately report an allegation... to the
Department of Health and Human Services which shall
commence an investigation within 24 hours under the
child Protection Act.”

Under Section 43-247(3)(a) the list of allegations now

includes, “...who is in a situation or engages in an

ocupation, including prostitution, dangerous to life or
limb...”
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LB 265-Definition of Kinship Care

* Defines kinship homes, provides for initial
assessment of the residence, home visits to
assure safety, background checks on adults
who reside in the home, and the ability to
establish a kinship placement without meeting
license requirements of those designated as
foster parents.

» Also imposes a Class I misdemeanor for
violations of those subject to the Children’s
Residential Facilities and Placing Licensure Act

LB 269-Commission Expansion
and Health Care for Court Youth

* Clean up bill from last legislative session

* Adds FCRO Director and Inspector General of
Child Welfare (non-voting members) to
legislative Children’s Commission, creates policy
analyst and moves offices to FCRO

 Children’s Commission will analyze the
Nebraska Juvenile Service Delivery Project

* Requires DHHS to apply for IV-E reimbursement
for probation project costs
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LB 269 continued

* Ensure adequate health care coverage for
minors requiring case plan and court reports
to include a minor’s eligibility for health
insurance, including Medicaid (this shall be
updated every 6 months).

 Allows enrollment in the federal health care
act (ACA) for those aging out of the system up
to the age of 26

LB 530-Foster Care
Reimbursement

* Requires DHHS to implement
recommendations from a Foster Care
Reimbursement Committee which is
established through the Nebraska Children’s
Commission.

» Two pilot projects are also established
regarding level of care assessment tools
established by this committee and must make
recommendations to the state legislature every
four years beginning in 2016.
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LB 561-Additional Provisions

Unrelated to Service Delivery

Excludes 43-247 (3)c’s from any changes except that this
population may not be placed in secure or non-secure
detention.

New definitions to reflect those previously adopted in the
Parenting Act (note the ability of a juvenile court to appoint
counsel).

Creates two new position within the Crime Commission; a
director of statewide diversion programs and a director of
community based juvenile services aid program.

Community aid has been increased by 1.8 million this year
and 3.8 million next year (as compared to 1.4 million for the
past year.)

Courts no longer need an OJS evaluation prior to commitment

to a YRTC if previous evaluations substantially meet the
requirements previously provided in those evaluations.

Reentry from YRTC’s

* “Upon discharge of the juvenile, the court
shall hold a review hearing on the conditions
of probation and enter any written order
allowed under...” the juvenile code.

* “The Office of Juvenile Services shall work in
collaboration with the Office of Probation
Administration in developing individualized
reentry plans as created in section 54 of this
act and shall notify the committing court at
least sixty days prior to discharge.”
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Re-Entry from YRTCss,
Section 54

* “Individualized reentry plans shall be finalized 30
days prior to the juvenile leaving...should include
specifics about the juvenile’s placement upon return
to the community...shall review...with the juvenile
and his or her support system within thirty days of
juvenile’s discharge...”

* Ajuvenile’s support system includes, “the
juvenile..., any immediate family members or
guardians, informal and formal supports, the
juvenile’s probation officer, Office of Juvenile
Services personnel employed by the facility, and any
additional personnel as appropriate.”

Re-Entry Time Frames:

Family Team meetings every 30 days during
commitment

Within 60 days of discharge (or as soon as possible if
discharge will occur earlier) a screening and needs
assessment must be completed in order to determine re-
offense risk needs

Individualized plan finalized 30 days prior to discharge

Probation officer must contact juvenile within 48 hours
of discharge to assist in implementing the plan

Courts will need to establish protocols was to when to
schedule hearings upon discharge in conjunction with
their respective probation offices
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Upcoming Legislative
Issues For
The 2014 Session

LB 464
Educational Best Interests
Recommendations for YRTC’s
Other Recommendations from Legislature’s Commission
Juvenile Code Guardianships
Additional Levels of Funding
Additional Judge in Douglas County Separate Juvenile Court
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