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The Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires that Nebraska cover certain youth who 
have aged out of the foster care system under Medicaid until age 26.

What judges, attorneys, and advocates can do.

This new eligibility category provides youth who age out of foster care with an 
opportunity to be covered under an insurance plan, just as their non-foster care 
peers can now be covered under their parents’ plan. Advocates here in Nebraska 
should work to ensure that the law is fully implemented locally and that eligible 
youth enroll in the program. Judges and attorneys can also play an important role 
in the law’s implementation by being aware of these key provisions, informing youth 
about the program, and recognizing how a youth’s current juvenile case can impact 
their future eligibility.

What judges, attorneys, and advocates should know.

Coverage under this new category in Medicaid will include youth who aged out 
of care prior to January 1, 2014.

Under the plain language of the statute, there is no differentiation between youth 
who aged out prior to January 1, 2014, and those who aged out after that date. 
Therefore, the statute will apply retroactively to youth who aged out of the system 
prior to January 1, 2014, and meet the requirements described above.

Discharging youth to independent living prior to the age of 18 will likely preclude 
future Medicaid coverage.

Under the plain language of the statute, young people who are discharged to 
independent living prior to their 18th birthday will not be eligible under this new 
Medicaid category.

Discharging youth to independent living between the ages of 18 and 19 may 
preclude future Medicaid coverage.

Due to the statutory language “on the date of attaining 18 years of age or such 
higher age as the State has elected under [the Fostering Connections Act],” 
there was a question as to whether youth discharged to independent living prior 
to their 19th birthday in Nebraska could be ineligible under this new Medicaid 
category. In January of 2013, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) issued draft federal regulations that indicate that youth discharged after 
their 18th birthday, but before their 19th birthday, would be eligible for Medicaid.2 
However, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services recently 
released proposed regulations that require youth to have “aged out,” as opposed 
to covering youth after age 18 as allowed by the federal statute. Therefore, the 
potential impact on Medicaid eligibility to age 26 should be carefully examined 
when considering discharging a young person to independent living before the age 
of 18 or 19. Please contact Nebraska Appleseed at 402-438-8853 with questions.
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Starting on January 1, 
2014, the ACA extends 
Medicaid coverage to 
youth who aged out of 
foster care until age 26. 

Youth will be eligible for 
Medicaid under this new 
category if they:

1.	 Are under 26 years 
of age;

2.	 Are not otherwise 
eligible for Medicaid;

3.	 Were in foster 
care under the 
responsibility of 
the state on the 
date of attaining 18 
years of age or such 
higher age as the 
State has elected 
under [the Fostering 
Connections Act]; 
and

4.	 Were enrolled in 
Medicaid or a waiver 
program while in 
such foster care.1



How to apply

At this time, it appears that there are a number of ways potentially eligible young people can apply for this 
Medicaid coverage. They can:

•	 Apply online through ACCESSNebraska at http://www.accessnebraska.ne.gov or the Health Insurance 
Marketplace at https://www.healthcare.gov. On both of these applications, make sure young people click “yes” 
when asked if they want to find out if they can get help paying for health coverage, and make sure they answer 
the questions about whether they were ever in foster care.

•	 Download an electronic application at http://public-dhhs.ne.gov/Forms/DisplayPDF.aspx?item=3067 and 
either mail it in or turn it in to their local Department of Health and Human Services office. Make sure they 
answer Question 16, which asks whether they were in foster care at age 18 or older.

•	 Apply over the phone through the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Medicaid Division at 
402-473-7000 (in Lincoln), 402-595-1178 (in Omaha), or 1-855-632-7633 (other areas of the state).

Further Reading

For more information on Medicaid eligibility for youth formerly in foster care, please see the following national 
resources.

•	 Center for Children and Families, Child Welfare and the Affordable Care Act: Key Provisions for Children and 
Youth in the Foster Care System. Available at: http://ccf.georgetown.edu/ccf-resources/child-welfare-the-
affordable-care-act-key-provisions-children-youth-the-foster-care-system/.

•	 Urban Institute, How Health Care Reform Can Help Children and Families in the Child Welfare System: Options 
for Action. Available at: http://www.urban.org/UploadedPDF/412842-how-health-care-reform-can-help.pdf.

•	 NHELP, Response to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) request for feedback on a proposed 
rule published in the Federal Register on Tuesday, January 22, 2013. Available at: http://www.healthlaw.org/
images/stories/NHeLP_Exchange_and_Medicaid_reg_comments.pdf.

•	 First Focus, Response to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) request for feedback on 
a proposed rule published in the Federal Register on Tuesday, January 22, 2013. Available at: http://
childwelfaresparc.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/first-focus_medicaid-foster-youth-reg-comments.pdf.

•	 Children’s Defense Fund, Response to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) request for 
feedback on a proposed rule published in the Federal Register on Tuesday, January 22, 2013. Available at: 
http://www.childrensdefense.org/child-research-data-publications/data/aca-medicaid-proposed-regs.pdf.
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Notes
1 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(10)(A)(i)(IX).
2 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 78 Fed. Reg. 4594, 4604 (Jan. 22, 2013) (amending 42 C.F.R. 435.150)
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