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Alabama A hearing is held 
within 72 hours 
or removal, 
Saturdays, 
Sundays and 
holidays included, 
to determine 
whether 
continued 
detention or 
shelter care is 
required.  Ala 
Code § 12-15-
60(a). 

No time frame in 
statute. 

No time frame in 
statute. 

Not referenced in 
statute. 

Within 12 months of 
any court order 
placing a child in 
foster care the court 
shall hold a 
permanency hearing.  
Ala. Code § 12-15-
62(c).  30 days after a 
determination of no 
reasonable efforts.  
Ala. Code § 12-15-
65(n).   

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 

Alaska       
Arizona Pre-hearing 

conference is held 
within five to 
seven days of the 
child’s removal 
and immediately 
preceding the 
preliminary 
protective 
hearing.  Ariz. 
Rev. Stat. §8-824 

An initial dependency 
hearing is held within 
21 days of the 
petition filing and 
after a settlement 
conference, pre-trial 
conference or 
mediation.  Ariz. Rev. 
Stat. §8-842, §8-844 

Dispositional hearing 
is held no more than 
30 days after the 
adjudication hearing.  
Ariz. Rev. Stat. §8-
844 

Periodic review 
hearings are held at 
least once every six 
months after the 
disposition hearing.  
Ariz. Rev. Stat. §8-
847  

The permanency 
hearing is held within 
30 days of disposition 
hearing if the court 
does not order 
reunification services, 
and in all other cases 
within 12 months of 
removal.  Ariz. Rev. 
Stat. §8-862 

Judge Pro 
Tempore – has all 
judicial powers of 
regular elected 
judge of the court 
to which 
appointed for a 
term of 12 
months per term.  
Ariz. Rev. Stat. 
Const. Art. 6 § 
31, Ariz. Rev. 
Stat. § 12-144 
 

Arkansas A probable cause 
hearing is held 
within five 
business days of 
the issuance of 
the ex parte 
emergency order.  
A.C.A. §9-27-
315(a)(1)(A) 

The adjudication 
hearing shall be held 
within 30 days after 
the probable cause 
hearing.  A.C.A. §9-
27-327(a)(1)(B)(i) 

The disposition 
hearing may be held 
immediately 
following or 
concurrent with the 
adjudication hearing.  
However, it shall be 
held no more than 14 
days following the 
adjudication hearing.  
A.C.A. §9-27-
329(c)(1) 

A review hearing is 
held every six 
months until there 
is a permanent 
order of custody, 
guardianship, or 
adoption or the 
juvenile is returned 
home and family 
services are 
discontinued 
pursuant to court 
order.  A.C.A. §9-
27-337(a)(1)  

The permanency 
planning hearing is 
held no later than 12 
months after the date 
the juvenile enters an 
out-of-home 
placement.  A.C.A. 
§9-27-338(a)(1) 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases.   

California A detention 
hearing must be 
held as soon as 
possible after 
removal, and 
before the 
expiration of the 
next judicial day 

A jurisdiction hearing 
is held within 30 days 
after the filing of the 
petition or within 15 
days after the filing 
of the petition of the 
minor is detained.  
Cal. Welf. & Inst. 

A dispositional 
hearing may be held 
on the same day as 
the jurisdiction 
hearing, and may not 
be continued for 
more than 10 days 
after the Jurisdiction 

The review hearing 
is held within six 
months of 
disposition hearing.  
Cal. Welf. & Inst. 
Code  §366 

The permanency 
hearing is held within 
12 months of the date 
the child entered 
foster care.  Cal. 
Welf. & Inst. Code 
§366.21(f) 

Commissioner – 
Every court 
commissioner 
shall have the 
power to hear and 
report findings 
and conclusions 
to the court for 
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after a petition to 
declare a minor a 
dependent child 
has been filed.  
Cal. Welf. & Inst. 
Code  § 315 

Code  §334 Hearing. Cal. Welf. & 
Inst. Code  §354 

approval, 
rejection, or 
change, all 
preliminary 
matters including 
motions or 
petitions for the 
custody of 
children.  Cal. 
Code. Civ. Proc. 
§ 259(e) 
Juvenile Referee 
– Referees have 
authority to hear 
and make orders 
in dependency 
cases but all 
orders are subject 
to a rehearing by 
a Judge.  Cal. 
Welf. & Inst. 
Code § 247.5-253 

Colorado       
Connecticut Preliminary 

hearing on order 
of temporary 
custody shall be 
held within ten 
days from the 
issuance of the 
order.  Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §46b-
129(b) 

Hearing on the order 
of temporary custody 
or order to show 
cause is to be held 
within ten days from 
the date of the 
preliminary hearing.  
Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§46b-129(f) 

Nine months after 
placement there is a 
review of a 
permanency plan. 
Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§46b-129(k)(1) 

The permanency 
plan is reviewed 
nine months after it 
has been approved.  
A permanency 
hearing on any 
motion for review 
of the permanency 
plan shall be held 
within ninety days 
of the filing of such 
motion.  Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §46b-
129(k)(1)  

After the initial 
permanency hearing, 
subsequent 
permanency hearings 
shall be held not less 
frequently than every 
twelve months while 
the child or youth 
remains in the 
custody of the 
agency.  Conn. Gen. 
Stat. §46b-129(k)(1) 
If reasonable efforts 
to reunify the family 
are not required then 
it is held no later than 
thirty days from such 
determination.  Conn. 
Gen. Stat. §17a-
111b(b) 

A state referee 
can preside over 
any juvenile 
matter.  Conn. 
Gen. Stat. § 46b-
121a *Note-the 
state referee must 
have been a judge 
of the Superior 
Court.   
 
 

Delaware       
Florida Shelter hearing is 

held within 24 
hours of removal.  
Fla. Stat. 
§39.401(3) 

Arraignment hearing 
is held within 28 days 
after shelter hearing 
or within 7 days after 
the date of filing the 
dependency petition. 
Fla. Stat. §39.506(1) 

Dispositional hearing 
is held within 30 days 
after the last day of 
the adjudicatory 
hearing.  Fla. Stat.   
§39.507(7) If the 
parent or legal 

Initial judicial 
review occurs no 
later than 90 days 
after the disposition 
hearing or after the 
date of the hearing 
at which the court 

No later than 12 
months after the date 
that the child was 
placed in shelter care, 
the court will conduct 
a judicial review to 
plan for the child’s 

General 
Magistrates-
Perform all of the 
duties that pertain 
to the office 
according to the 
practice in 
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Adjudication hearing 
is held as soon as 
practicable after the 
petition is filed, but 
no later than 30 days 
after the arraignment 
if parent denies 
allegations.  Fla. Stat. 
§39.506(1) and Fla. 
Stat. 39.507(1)(a)  

custodian admits or 
consents to the 
findings in the 
petition, the 
disposition hearing is 
held within 15 days 
after the arraignment 
hearing.  Fla. Stat. 
§39.506(1)& (2) 

approves the case 
plan, whichever 
occurs earlier.  
However, the initial 
review hearing is 
never later than six 
months after 
removal.  Fla. Stat. 
§39.521(c) & 
§39.701(a) 

permanency.  Fla. 
Stat. §39.701(9)(f) 

chancery and 
rules of court and 
under the 
direction of the 
court except those 
duties related to 
domestic, or 
repeat, and dating 
violence.  Fla. R. 
Fam. Law. R. 
Proc. 12.490 

Georgia If a child alleged 
to be deprived is 
not released, the 
informal 
detention hearing 
shall be held 
promptly and not 
later than 72 
hours after the 
child is placed in 
shelter care.  If 
the 72 hour time 
period expires on 
a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal 
holiday, the 
hearing shall be 
held on the next 
day which is not a 
Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday. 
Ga. Code Ann. § 
15-11-49 (c)(3). 

After the petition has 
been filed the court 
shall set a hearing 
thereon, which, if the 
child is in detention, 
shall not be later than 
ten days after the 
filing of the petition. 
If the child is not in 
detention, the court 
shall set a hearing 
thereon which shall 
be not later than 60 
days from the date of 
the filing of the 
petition. Ga. Code 
Ann. § 15-11-39 (a). 

After hearing the 
evidence on any 
petition alleging 
deprivation, the court 
shall make and file its 
findings as to 
whether the child is a 
deprived child.  The 
court shall proceed 
immediately or at a 
postponed hearing to 
make a proper 
disposition if the 
court finds from clear 
and convincing 
evidence that the 
child is deprived.  Ga 
Code Ann. § 15-11-
54 (a)(c). 

All cases of 
children in foster 
care in the custody 
of the Division of 
Family and 
Children Services 
of the Department 
of Human 
Resources shall be 
initially reviewed 
within 90 days of 
the entering of the 
dispositional order 
but no later than six 
months following 
the child's 
placement.  Ga. 
Code Ann. § 15-11-
58(k) 

If reasonable efforts 
are not made with 
respect to a child as a 
result of a 
determination made 
by a court of 
competent a 
permanency hearing 
shall be held for the 
child within 30 days 
after such 
determination. 
Thereafter, a 
permanency hearing 
shall be held not less 
frequently than every 
12 months during the 
time the child 
continues in the 
custody of the 
Department of 
Human Resources.  
Ga. Code Ann. § 15-
11-58(a)(5)(A), 
(o)(1). 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 

Hawaii Temporary foster 
custody hearing is 
held within two 
days after 
removal.  Haw. 
Rev. Stat.  §587-
53(a).  Pretrial 
conference is held 
within 15 days of 
petition filing or 
temporary foster 
custody hearing.  
Haw. Rev. Stat.  § 
587-62 

Adjudication hearing 
is held within ten 
working days of the 
pretrial conference.  
Haw. Rev. Stat.  
§587-62 

Disposition hearing is 
held on the same date 
as the adjudication 
hearing or may be 
continued no more 
than 45 days from 
adjudication hearing.  
Haw. Rev. Stat.  
§587-62, -71 

Review hearing is 
held within six 
months after the 
date a service plan 
is ordered by the 
court (at 
adjudication or 
disposition) and 
thereafter 
subsequent review 
hearings every six 
months until 
jurisdiction ends.  
Haw. Rev. Stat.  
§587-62, -72  

Permanent plan 
hearing is held within 
one year after the 
date the permanent 
plan is ordered by the 
court or sooner if 
required by federal 
law.  Haw. Rev. Stat.  
§587-73 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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Idaho Shelter care 
hearing is held 
within 48 hours 
of removal.  
Idaho Code §16-
1613(a)(3) 

The adjudicatory 
hearing is held within 
30 days after filing of 
the petition.  Idaho 
Code §16-1608(a) 
and 16-1614(f) 

No timeframe in 
statute. 

Review hearing is 
held no later than 
six months after 
entry of the court’s 
order taking 
jurisdiction and 
every six months 
thereafter.  Idaho 
Code §16-1611(c) 

Permanency Hearing 
is held prior to twelve 
months from the date 
the child is removed 
or the date of the 
court’s order taking 
jurisdiction, 
whichever occurs 
first.  The 
Permanency Hearing 
may be combined 
with the review 
hearing.  Idaho Code 
§16-1611(d) 

Magistrate-The 
administrative 
judge can assign a 
magistrate to 
preside over 
juvenile 
proceedings. 
Idaho Code §1-
2208 However, 
only magistrates 
who are attorneys 
can preside over 
proceedings 
involving the 
custody of 
minors.  Idaho 
Code §1-
2210(1)(c) 

Illinois Temporary 
custody hearing is 
held within 48 
hours of taking 
protective 
custody of the 
child.  705 ILCS 
§405/2-10 

Adjudication hearing 
is held within 90 days 
of service on both 
parties and the court 
family conference has 
taken place.  705 
ILCS §405/2-21 

Disposition hearing is 
held within 30 days 
of adjudication 
hearing unless all 
parties waive it.  705 
ILCS §405/2-22 

 Permanency hearing 
is held within 12 
months of temporary 
custody hearing; 
subsequent 
permanency hearings 
are held every six 
months.  705 ILCS 
§405/2-28 

 

Indiana Preliminary 
hearing is held 
within two days 
or 48 business 
hours from 
removal.  Ind. 
Code Ann. §31-
34-5-1 

If allegations are 
denied, the court may 
hold the fact finding 
hearing immediately 
after the initial 
hearing.  Ind. Code 
Ann. §31-34-10-9(b) 

If allegations are 
admitted, then the 
court may hold a 
dispositional hearing 
immediately after the 
initial hearing.  Ind. 
Code Ann. §31-34-
10-9(a) 

Review hearing is 
held at least once 
every six months 
from removal.   Ind. 
Code Ann. §31-34-
21-2(a)  

Permanency planning 
hearing is held within 
12 months of removal 
or the date of the 
original dispositional 
decree whichever 
comes first.  Ind. 
Code Ann. §31-34-
21-7(a)(2)(A)-(B) 
Permanency planning 
hearing is held 30 
days after finding that 
reasonable efforts are 
not required.   Ind. 
Code Ann. §31-34-
21-7(a)(1) 
 

Full-time 
Magistrate-
Powers and 
limitations on 
powers are 
conferred by 
statute.  Ind. 
Code. Ann. §31-
31-3-2; 33-23-5-
(5)-(8) 
Part-time juvenile 
court referee-
Performs the 
duties assigned by 
the Court, 
submits findings 
and 
recommendations 
in writing to the 
juvenile court, 
and may 
administer oaths.  
Ind. Code Ann. 
§31-31-3-6; 31-
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31-4-5. 
Iowa Removal hearing 

is held within ten 
days of the 
temporary 
removal of the 
child.  Iowa Code 
§232.95(1)  

No time frame in 
statute. 

Dispositional hearing 
is held as soon as 
practicable after the 
adjudication hearing. 
Iowa Code §232.99  

No time frame in 
statute.   

Permanency hearing 
is held within 12 
months from the date 
of removal if 
reasonable efforts 
requirements are not 
waived or within 30 
days of the date 
reasonable efforts 
requirements are 
waived. Iowa Code  
§232.104(1)(a)  

Associate 
Juvenile Judge-
Has same 
jurisdiction to 
conduct juvenile 
court proceedings 
as the judge of the 
juvenile court.  
Iowa Code 
§602.7103 

Kansas       
Kentucky Temporary 

removal hearing 
is held within ten 
days of petition 
filing if non-
emergency or 
within 72 hours 
of removal if 
emergency. Ky. 
Rev. Stat. Ann.  
§620.080(1)(a) 
and (b)  

No timeframe in 
statute.   

No timeframe in 
statute. 

No timeframe in 
statute. 

Permanency planning 
hearing is held within 
12 months after the 
date the child is 
considered to have 
entered foster care 
and every 12 months 
thereafter.  If the 
cabinet or 
Department of 
Juvenile Justice 
determines that 
reasonable efforts 
will not be made then 
the permanency 
hearing is held within 
30 days of the filing 
of the case 
permanency plan or 
case progress report.   
Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.  
§610.125(1) & (2) 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases.   

Louisiana Continued 
custody hearing 
within three days 
of removal.  La. 
Ch.C. Art. 624 

Adjudication hearing 
is held within 45 days 
of filing petition.  La. 
Ch.C. Art. 659 

Disposition hearing 
may be held 
immediately after the 
adjudication hearing 
or within 30 days of 
adjudication.  La. 
Ch.C. Art. 678 

Review hearing is 
held within three 
months after 
disposition hearing 
and no more than 
six months from 
removal.  La. Ch.C. 
Art. 692 

Permanency hearing 
is held within 30 days 
of a judicial 
determination that 
reunification efforts 
are not required.  La. 
Ch.C. Art. 702(A). 
The court shall 
conduct a 
permanency hearing 
within nine months 
after the disposition 
hearing if the child 
was removed prior to 
disposition and no 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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more than 12 months 
after removal.  La. 
Ch.C. Art. 702(B) 

Maine On the filing of a 
petition, the court 
shall set the 
earliest 
practicable time 
and date for a 
hearing.  Me. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 22 § 
4032(3). 

If the custodial parent 
appears and does not 
consent, or if a non-
custodial parent 
requests a hearing, 
then the court shall 
hold a summary 
preliminary hearing 
on that order within 
14 days but not less 
than 7 days of its 
issuance or request. If 
a parent or custodian 
is not served with the 
petition before the 
summary preliminary 
hearing, the parent or 
custodian may 
request a subsequent 
preliminary hearing 
within 10 days after 
receipt of the petition.  
The hearings must 
commence within 30 
days of entry of the 
preliminary order.  
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 
22 § 4034(4). 

The court shall issue 
a jeopardy order 
within 120 days of 
the filing of the child 
protection petition.  
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. 
22 § 4035(4-A). 

If a court has made 
a jeopardy order, it 
shall review the 
case at least once 
every 6 months, 
unless the child has 
been emancipated 
or adopted.  Me. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. 22 § 
4038(1). 

The court shall 
conduct a 
permanency planning 
hearing and shall 
determine a 
permanency plan 
within 12 months of 
the time a child is 
considered to have 
entered foster care 
and every 12 months 
thereafter.  Me. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 22 § 
4038(7-A). 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 

Maryland The court shall 
hold a shelter care 
hearing on the 
petition not later 
than the next day 
on which the 
circuit court is in 
session.  Md. 
Code Ann. Fam. 
Law § 3-
815(c)(2)(i), (ii). 
 

Adjudication hearing 
must be held within 
30 days of shelter 
care hearing.  Md. 
Code Ann. Fam. Law 
§ 3-815(c)(4). 

The disposition 
hearing shall be held 
on the same day as 
the adjudicatory.  If 
the court delays a 
disposition hearing, it 
shall be held no later 
than 30 days after the 
conclusion of the 
adjudicatory hearing 
unless good cause is 
shown.  Md. Code 
Ann. Fam. Law §3-
819(a)(2), (3). 

No time frame in 
statute. 

For children in foster 
care or guardianships, 
every 12 months the 
court shall hold a 
hearing to review the 
progress which has 
been made toward the 
child's adoption and 
to review whether the 
child's current 
placement and 
circumstances are in 
the child's best 
interest.  Md. Code 
Ann. Fam. Law §5-
319(f)(1). 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 

Massachusetts If, after a 
recitation under 
oath by the 
petitioner of the 

No time frame in 
statute. 

No time frame in 
statute. 

No time frame in 
statute. 

Within 12 months of 
the original 
commitment, grant of 
custody or transfer of 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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facts of the 
condition of the 
child who is the 
subject of the 
petition, the court 
is satisfied that 
there is 
reasonable cause 
to believe that the 
child is suffering 
from serious 
abuse or neglect 
or is in immediate 
danger of serious 
abuse or neglect 
and that 
immediate 
removal of the 
child is necessary 
to protect the 
child from serious 
abuse or neglect, 
the court may 
issue an 
emergency order 
transferring 
custody of the 
child to the 
department or to a 
licensed child 
care agency or 
individual 
described in 
clause (2) of the 
first paragraph of 
section 26. A 
transfer of 
custody shall be 
for a period not 
exceeding 72 
hours except that 
upon the entry of 
the order, notice 
shall be given to 
either or both 
parents, guardian 
with care and 
custody or other 
custodian to 
appear before the 
court. The court 

responsibility of a 
child to the 
department by a court 
of competent 
jurisdiction, and not 
less frequently than 
every 12 months 
thereafter while the 
child remains in the 
care of the 
department, the 
committing court 
shall conduct a 
permanency hearing, 
in accordance with 
rules established by 
the chief justice for 
administration and 
management, to 
determine and 
periodically review 
thereafter the 
permanency plan for 
the child.  Mass. 
Gen. Laws Ann. 119 
§ 29B. 
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shall, at that time, 
determine 
whether 
temporary 
custody shall 
continue until a 
hearing on the 
merits of the 
petition for care 
and protection is 
concluded before 
the court.  Mass. 
Gen. Laws Ann. 
119 § 24. 

Michigan If the child is 
removed, the 
child and parents, 
if located, are 
immediately 
brought before 
the court for a 
preliminary 
hearing.  MCL 
§712A.14(2) 

No statutory 
timeframe. 

No statutory 
timeframe.   

A review hearing is 
held within 182 
days from removal 
and no later than 91 
days after that for 
the first year that 
the child is under 
court jurisdiction.  
After the first year, 
a review hearing is 
held no more than 
182 days from the 
immediately 
preceding review 
hearing and no later 
than 182 days 
thereafter.  MCL 
§712A.19(3) 
 
If the child is 
placed in a 
permanent relative 
placement or 
permanent foster 
family then the 
review hearing is 
held within 182 
days after removal 
and every 182 days 
thereafter.  MCL 
§712A.19(4) 

Permanency planning 
hearing is held within 
12 months after 
removal.  Subsequent 
hearings are held no 
later than 12 months.  
MCL §712A.19a(1) If 
it is determined that  
reasonable efforts are 
not required then a 
permanency planning 
hearing is held within 
30 days of that 
determination. MCL 
§712A.19a(2) 

Referee-the judge 
may designate a 
probation officer 
or county agent to 
act as referee.  
The appointed 
referee may take 
the testimony of 
witnesses and 
hear petitions 
alleging that a 
child is within the 
court’s 
jurisdiction.  
MCL §712A.10(1) 

Minnesota The court shall 
hold a hearing 
within 72 hours 
of the time the 
child was taken 
into custody, 

To the extent 
practicable, the court 
shall enter a 
disposition order the 
same day it makes a 
finding that a child is 

To the extent 
practicable, the court 
shall enter a 
disposition order the 
same day it makes a 
finding that a child is 

No later than six 
months after the 
child's out-of-home 
placement, the 
court shall review 
agency efforts and 

The court shall 
conduct a hearing to 
determine the 
permanent status of a 
child not later than 12 
months after the child 

The chief judge 
of the judicial 
district may 
appoint one or 
more suitable 
persons to act as 
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excluding 
Saturdays, 
Sundays, and 
holidays, to 
determine 
whether the child 
should continue 
in custody.  Minn. 
Stat. Ann. § 
260C.178(1)(a). 

in need of protection 
or services or 
neglected and in 
foster care, but in no 
event more than 15 
days after the finding 
unless the court finds 
that the best interests 
of the child will be 
served by granting a 
delay.  Minn. Stat. 
Ann. § 
260C.201(1)(b)(9). 

in need of protection 
or services or 
neglected and in 
foster care, but in no 
event more than 15 
days after the finding 
unless the court finds 
that the best interests 
of the child will be 
served by granting a 
delay.  Minn. Stat. 
Ann. § 
260C.201(1)(b)(9). 

order that the 
efforts continue if 
the agency has 
failed to perform 
the duties under 
that section.  Minn. 
Stat. Ann. § 
260C.201(10)(b). 

is placed in foster 
care or in the care of 
a noncustodial parent. 
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 
260C.201(11).  

referees. All 
referees are 
subject to the 
administrative 
authority and 
assignment power 
of the chief judge 
of the district. 
Referees shall 
hold office at the 
pleasure of the 
judges of the 
district court.  
Minn. Stat. Ann. 
§ 260.031(1). 

Mississippi A child taken into 
custody shall not 
be held longer 
than 24 hours 
unless the judge 
authorizes 
temporary 
custody.  Miss. 
Code Ann. §43-
21-303(4) 

The adjudicatory 
hearing is held within 
90 days after the 
filing of the petition. 
However, if the child 
is held in shelter, the 
hearing shall be held 
as soon as possible, 
but not later than 30 
days after the child is 
first taken into 
custody. Miss. Code 
Ann. §43-21-551(1)& 
(3) 

If the child has been 
taken into custody, 
the disposition 
hearing is held within 
14 days after the 
adjudicatory hearing 
unless good cause is 
shown.  However, the 
disposition hearing 
may be held 
immediately after the 
adjudicatory hearing 
so long as it is 
separate, distinct, and 
subsequent to the 
adjudicatory hearing.  
Miss. Code Ann. §43-
21-601(1) & (2) 

Review hearings 
are held at least 
annually.  Miss. 
Code Ann. §43-21-
613(a) 

Permanency hearing 
is held within 12 
months after the 
earlier of the 
adjudication or date 
of removal.  Miss. 
Code Ann. §43-21-
613(3)(a)(i)&(ii) 

Youth Court 
Referee-In any 
county not 
heaving a county 
court or family 
court the judge 
may appoint a 
regular or special 
referee for cases 
concerning 
children within 
the jurisdiction of 
the youth court.  
Miss. Code Ann. 
§43-21-111(1)   

Missouri Temporary 
protective 
custody for 
purposes of this 
section shall not 
exceed twenty-
four hours. 
Temporary 
protective 
custody for a 
period beyond 
twenty-four hours 
may be 
authorized only 
by an order of the 
juvenile court. 
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 
210.125(4). 

The court shall hold 
an adjudication 
hearing no later than 
sixty days after the 
child has been taken 
into custody.  Mo. 
Rev. Stat. § 
211.032(4). 

In the case of a child 
who has been 
committed to the care 
of an authorized 
agency by a parent, 
guardian or relative 
and where such child 
has remained in the 
care of one or more 
authorized agencies 
for a continuous 
period of six months, 
the agency shall 
petition the juvenile 
court in the county 
where the child is 
present to review the 
status of the child. A 

See dispositional 
hearing statute. 

In the case of a child 
who has been placed 
in the custody of the 
division of family 
services in or another 
authorized agency by 
a court or who has 
been placed in foster 
care by a court, every 
six months after the 
placement, the foster 
family, group home, 
agency, or child care 
institution with which 
the child is placed 
shall file with the 
court a written report 
on the status of the 

In each county of 
the first class 
having a charter 
form of 
government, 
except those 
counties having a 
family court as 
provided in 
sections 487.010 
to 487.190, 
RSMo, a majority 
of the circuit 
judges, en banc, 
may appoint one 
or two persons 
who shall have 
the same 
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written report on the 
status of the child 
shall be presented to 
the court. The court 
shall then review the 
status of the child and 
may hold a 
dispositional hearing 
thereon. The purpose 
of the dispositional 
hearing shall be to 
determine whether or 
not the child should 
be continued in foster 
care or whether the 
child should be 
returned to a parent, 
guardian or relative, 
or whether or not 
proceedings should 
be instituted to 
terminate parental 
right and legally free 
such child for 
adoption.  Mo. Rev. 
Stat. § 210.710. 

child. The court shall 
review the report and 
shall hold a 
permanency hearing 
within twelve months 
of initial placement 
and at least annually 
thereafter.  Mo. Rev. 
Stat. § 210.720(1). 

qualifications as a 
circuit judge to 
act as 
commissioners. 
The 
commissioners 
shall be appointed 
for a term of four 
years. The 
compensation of a 
commissioner 
shall be the same 
as set by law for 
associate circuit 
judges of the 
county for which 
they are 
appointed, 
payable by the 
state, and the 
commissioners 
shall devote full 
time to such 
duties.  Mo. Rev. 
Stat. §  211.023.   
 
The findings and 
recommendations 
of the 
commissioner 
shall become the 
judgment of the 
court when 
adopted and 
confirmed by an 
order of a circuit 
or an associate 
circuit judge.  
Mo. Rev. Stat. § 
487.03(1).  

Montana An abuse and 
neglect petition 
must be filed 
within 2 working 
days, excluding 
weekends and 
holidays, of 
emergency 
placement of a 
child.  A show 
cause hearing 

Upon the filing of an 
appropriate petition, 
an adjudicatory 
hearing must be held 
within 90 days of a 
show cause hearing. 
Mont. Code. Ann.  
§41-3-437(1). 

A dispositional 
hearing must be held 
on every petition 
filed under this 
chapter within 20 
days after an 
adjudicatory order 
has been entered.  
Mont. Code. Ann. § 
41-3-438(1). 
A dispositional 

FCRB reviews 
cases. 

The court is required 
by federal and state 
laws to hold a 
permanency hearing 
to determine the 
permanent placement 
of a child no later 
than 12 months after 
a judge determines 
that the child has 
been abused or 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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must be held 
within 20 days of 
the filing of the 
initial petition.  
Mont. Code Ann. 
§ 41-3-301(5),(6). 

hearing may follow 
an adjudicatory 
hearing in a 
bifurcated manner 
immediately after the 
adjudicatory phase of 
the proceedings. 
Mont. Code. Ann. § 
41-3-438(2)(b). 

neglected or 12 
months after the first 
60 days that the child 
has been removed 
from the child's 
home. Mont. Code. 
Ann. §  41-3-422 (a). 

Nebraska No timeframe in 
statute.   

The adjudication 
hearing is held within 
90 days after petition 
is filed.  R.R.S. Neb. 
§43-278 

No timeframe in 
statute.   

The Court shall 
review every case 
which has been 
adjudicated or 
transferred to it for 
disposition no less 
than once every six 
months.  R.R.S. 
Neb. §43-278  

Permanency hearing 
is scheduled within 
12 months of the date 
the child entered 
foster care.  R.R.S. 
Neb. §43-1312(3) 

Clerk Magistrate-
Has the authority 
to determine 
temporary 
custody of a 
juvenile.  R.R.S. 
Neb. §24-519(4) 

Nevada Protective 
custody hearing is 
held within 72 
hours of removal 
of child.   NEV. 
REV. STAT. 
§432B.470. 

Hearing on the 
petition is held within 
30 days of removal. 
If parents deny 
allegations then an 
evidentiary hearing is 
set within two 
months of hearing on 
the petition. NEV. 
REV. STAT. 
§432B.530. 

Review hearings are 
held within three and 
six months of 
removal.  The 
majority of the 
hearings are held 
only within six 
months of removal.   
NEV. REV. STAT. 
§432B.580.  

 The permanency 
planning hearing is 
held within 12 
months of removal.  
If termination is 
sought at the 
permanency hearing, 
then the agency files 
a TPR petition.  
NEV. REV. STAT. 
§432B.590. 
 

 

New Hampshire The court shall 
hold a hearing on 
the matter within 
24 hours of taking 
the child into 
protective 
custody, Sundays 
and holidays 
excluded.  N.H. 
Rev. Stat. Ann. § 
169-C:6(IV). 

The adjudicatory 
hearing to be held 
within 30 days of the 
filing of the petition.  
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. 
§ 169-C:15(III)(d).   

The court shall hold a 
hearing on final 
disposition within 30 
days after a finding of 
neglect or abuse. 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.  
§ 169-C:18(VII). 

No timeframe in 
statute. 

The status of all 
consent orders, of all 
children not under the 
custody of their 
parents, or children 
under legal 
supervision shall be 
reviewed by the court 
at least once every 
year following the 
initial approval of the 
order or initial 
dispositional hearing. 
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.  
§ 169-C:24 

Referees 
appointed by the 
superior court 
may be assigned 
to the judicial 
branch family 
division by 
agreement of the 
Chief Justice of 
the Superior 
Court and the 
Administrative 
Judge of the 
Judicial Branch 
Family Division. 
Thereafter, the 
referee shall be 
assigned to such 
matters as the 
Judicial Branch 
Family Division 
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Administrative 
Judge shall direct. 
Referees assigned 
under this rule 
shall have the 
same authority as 
those appointed to 
the superior court 
pursuant to RSA 
519.  N.H. Fam. 
Div. Pilot 
Program  (2005)   

New Jersey Show cause 
hearing is held 
within 15 days of 
filing the order to 
show cause. From 
that hearing the 
parents are sent to 
the Child in Court 
Unit to be 
assigned an 
attorney. 

30 days from the 
filing of the show 
cause order, the 
parent is assigned 
counsel and dates are 
assigned for tasks.  
The fact finding 
hearing is held within 
60 days of show 
cause hearing.  N.J. 
STAT. ANN. §9:6-
8.44 

Three compliance 
review hearings are 
scheduled to measure 
parent’s progress on 
assigned task, 
permanency goals, 
and progress of case.   

 The permanency 
hearing is held within 
12 months of the 
show cause hearing.  
N.J. STAT. ANN. 
§30.4C-61.2 

 

New Mexico Custody hearing 
is held within 10 
days from the 
date of the 
petition.  
However, in no 
event shall the 
hearing be held 
sooner than 2 
days after the date 
the petition was 
filed.  N.M. Stat. 
Ann. §32A-4-
18(A) 

Adjudicatory hearing 
is held within 60 days 
after the latest of:  the 
date the petition is 
served on respondent; 
the date the court 
files an order for a 
mistrial or new trial; 
or if appealed, the 
date that the mandate 
or order is filed in the 
district court 
disposing the appeal.  
N.M. Stat. Ann. 
§32A-4-19(A)(1)-(3)  

The disposition 
hearing is held within 
30 days after the 
adjudicatory hearing.  
However, the 
disposition hearing 
can be held in 
conjunction with the 
adjudicatory hearing. 
N.M. Stat. Ann. 
§32A-4-22  

The initial judicial 
review is held 
within 60 days of 
the disposition. 
N.M. Stat. Ann. 
§32A-4-25(A)  
Subsequent reviews 
are held within 6 
months after the 
permanency 
hearing. N.M. Stat. 
Ann. §32A-4-25(B) 

A permanency 
hearing is held within 
6 months of the initial 
judicial review.  N.M. 
Stat. Ann. §32A-4-
25.1(A)  

Special Master-
may conduct a 
judicial review 
hearing; however, 
the court must 
approve any 
findings made by 
the special 
master.  N.M. 
Stat. Ann. §32A-
4-25(B)(2) 

New York Preliminary 
hearing held 
within 24 hours 
of removal of 
child and a 
remand hearing is 
held, if requested, 
within 3-15 days 
of removal.  NY 
CLS FAMILY 
CT. ACT  §1028 

Fact finding hearing 
is held within 40-60 
days of removal after 
two pre-trial 
conferences have 
been held.  NY CLS 
FAMILY CT. ACT  
§1044 

Dispositional hearing 
is held within 40-90 
days of removal.  NY 
CLS FAMILY CT. 
ACT  §1045 

Review hearings 
may be held the 
same day of 
dispositional 
hearing or 
separately.  NY 
CLS FAMILY CT. 
ACT  §1052(b)(6) 

Permanency hearing 
is held within 345-
365 days of removal 
and after two review 
hearings.  NY CLS 
FAMILY CT. ACT  
§1052(b)(6) 

 

North Carolina The non-secure The adjudicatory No time frame in First review hearing The permanency  
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custody hearing is 
held within seven 
calendar days of 
the petition filing.  
However, by 
local rule the non-
secure custody 
hearing is 
scheduled within 
three days of 
removal.  N.C. 
Gen. Stat. §7B-
506(a) 

hearing shall be held 
no later than 60 days 
from the filing of the 
petition. N.C. Gen. 
Stat. §7B-801(c)  

statute. is held within 90 
days of disposition 
and a review 
hearing shall be 
conducted within 6 
months thereafter.  
N.C. Gen. Stat.  
§7B-906(a)  

planning hearing is 
held not later than 12 
months from initial 
removal.  N.C. Gen. 
Stat.  §7B-907(a)  

 

North Dakota A judge or referee 
shall hold a 
detention or 
shelter care 
hearing promptly 
and not later than 
ninety-six hours 
after the child is 
placed in 
detention or 
shelter care to 
determine 
whether there is 
probable cause to 
believe the child 
has committed the 
delinquent or 
unruly acts 
alleged, or the 
child is deprived 
and whether the 
child's detention 
or shelter care is 
required. N.D. 
Cent. Code § 27-
20-17(2). 

If a child is in shelter 
care, the hearing on 
the petition must be 
held within sixty days 
of the initial shelter 
care hearing. N.D. 
Cent. Code § 27-20-
22(1). 

After hearing the 
evidence on the 
petition the court 
shall make and file its 
findings as to 
whether the child is a 
deprived child.  If the 
court finds from clear 
and convincing 
evidence that the 
child is deprived, the 
court shall proceed 
immediately or at a 
postponed hearing to 
make a proper 
disposition of the 
case.  N.D. Cent. 
Code § 27-20-29(1), 
(3).  

No time frame in 
statute. 

A permanency 
hearing must be 
conducted within 
thirty days after a 
court determines that 
aggravated 
circumstances exist, 
or within twelve 
months after a child, 
subject to an order of 
disposition under this 
subsection, is 
considered to have 
entered foster care, or 
is continued in foster 
care following a 
previous permanency 
hearing.  N.D. Cent. 
Code § 27-20-
36(2)(b). 

There may be 
appointed in each 
judicial district, 
by the judges of 
district court 
having 
jurisdiction 
therein, one or 
more referees to 
serve on a full-
time or part-time 
basis, to preside 
in any case or 
proceeding 
provided for in 
title 14, chapter 
27.  N.D. Cent 
Code § 27-05-
30(1),(2) 

Ohio Preliminary 
hearing is held 
the same day the 
petition is filed or 
the next business 
day not to exceed 
72 hours in 
requests for 
emergency 
removal on 
weekends, 
holidays, or 

Adjudication hearing 
is held within 30 days 
of filing the 
complaint, but may 
be continued for a 
reasonable period of 
time not to exceed 60 
days for good cause. 
Ohio Rev. Code Ann.  
§2151.28(A)(2) and 
2151.35 

Dispositional hearing 
is held within 30 days 
of adjudication and 
not to exceed 90 days 
from the filing of the 
complaint.  A 
dispositional hearing 
may be held 
immediately after the 
adjudicatory hearing 
if all parties were 
served prior to the 

Court practice is to 
hold review 
hearings every 
three to six months 
for children in 
custody (statute 
requires a review 
hearing every 12 
months).  Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. 
§2151.417 

Permanency hearing 
shall be held no later 
than 30 days 
following the 
determination that 
reunification services 
are not required.  
Otherwise, to be held 
within 12 months 
from the earlier of the 
date of initial 
placement or the date 

Magistrate-Has 
powers conferred 
by rule. Ohio Juv. 
R. 40 
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evening hours.  
Ohio Rev. Code 
Ann. 
§2151.28(G), 
2151.31 and 
2151.314 

adjudicatory hearing 
with all required 
documents for the 
dispositional hearing. 
Ohio Rev. Code Ann.  
§2151.35(B)(1) and 
§2151.353 

of the filing the 
complaint.  Ohio Rev. 
Code Ann. §2151.417 
and §2151.419 

Oklahoma Within the next 
two (2) judicial 
days following 
the child being 
taken into 
protective or 
emergency 
custody, the court 
shall conduct an 
emergency 
custody hearing 
to determine 
whether evidence 
or facts exist that 
are sufficient to 
demonstrate to 
the court there is 
reason to believe 
the child is in 
need of protection 
due to abuse or 
neglect, or is in 
surroundings that 
are such as to 
endanger the 
health, safety or 
welfare of the 
child. 10 Okla. 
Stat. § 7003-2.4 
(b)(1). 

No time frame in 
statute. 

No time frame in 
statute. 

Every case 
regarding a child 
alleged or 
adjudicated to be 
deprived shall be 
reviewed by the 
court at a hearing 
no later than six (6) 
months from the 
date of the child's 
out-of-home 
placement and at 
least once every six 
(6) months 
thereafter. A review 
hearing may be 
held concurrently 
with a permanency 
hearing. A child 
shall be considered 
to have entered an 
out-of-home 
placement on the 
earlier of the 
adjudication date or 
the date that is sixty 
(60) days after the 
date on which the 
child is removed 
from the home.  10 
Okla. Stat. § 7003-
5.6(A). 

The court shall 
conduct a 
permanency hearing 
on behalf of a child 
no later than six (6) 
months after placing 
the child in out-of-
home placement and 
every six (6) months 
thereafter.  10 Okla. 
Stat. § 7003-
5.6d(A0(1)(a). 

Any judge who is 
assigned to hear 
juvenile cases in 
counties having a 
population in 
excess of one 
hundred thousand 
(100,000) may 
appoint a suitable 
person or persons 
to act as referee 
or referees, to 
hold office at the 
pleasure of the 
judge. Such 
referees shall be 
lawyers and shall 
be specially 
qualified for their 
duties. The judge 
may direct that 
any case, or all 
cases of a class or 
within a county to 
be designated by 
the judge, shall be 
heard in the first 
instance by a 
referee in the 
manner provided 
for the hearing of 
cases by the 
court. Upon the 
conclusion of the 
hearing in each 
case, the referee 
shall transmit to 
the court all 
papers relating to 
the case, together 
with the referee's 
findings of fact 
and conclusions 
of law, and 
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recommendations 
in writing. 
Notice of the 
referee's findings 
and 
recommendations 
shall be given to 
the parent, 
guardian or 
custodian of the 
child, the child's 
attorney, guardian 
ad litem or court-
appointed special 
advocate, foster 
parent or to any 
other person 
concerned whose 
case has been 
heard by the 
referee. A hearing 
by the court shall 
be allowed upon 
the filing with the 
court of a request 
for such hearing, 
if the request is 
filed within three 
(3) days after the 
service of such 
notice. In case no 
hearing by the 
court is requested, 
the findings and 
recommendations 
of the referee, 
when confirmed 
by an order of the 
court, shall 
become the 
decree of the 
court. 10 Okla. 
Stat. § 7003-
8.6(A), (B). 

Oregon Shelter care 
hearing is held 
within 24 hours 
of removal of 
child. Or. Rev. 
Stat. §419B.183  

Hearing on the 
petition is held 60 
days after a petition 
has been filed and the 
court enters an order 
directing the 
disposition to be 

Disposition occurs at 
the same time as 
adjudication. Or. Rev. 
Stat. §419B.305 

Review hearing is 
held not more than 
six months from the 
date of removal.  
Or. Rev. Stat. 
§419B.440 

The permanency 
hearing is held within 
30 days of finding of 
no reasonable efforts 
required and no later 
than 12 months after 
jurisdiction over child 

Referee – A court 
in which an 
action is pending 
may appoint a 
referee who shall 
have such 
qualifications as 



STATE REMOVAL/ 
PRELIMINARY 
PROTECTIVE 

HEARING 

ADJUDICATION 
HEARING 

DISPOSITION 
HEARING 

REVIEW 
HEARING 

PERMANENCY 
HEARING 

JUDGE-
SUPERVISED 

JUDICIAL 
OFFICERS 

made. Or. Rev. Stat. 
§419B.305 

was established.  Or. 
Rev. Stat. §419B.470 

the court deems 
appropriate.  Or. 
R.Civ. Proc. 
§65(A)(1) 
Juvenile Court 
referees, 
appointment by 
the court, may 
conduct hearings 
in any Juvenile 
Court cases, 
except that a 
hearing on 
remand for adult 
prosecution when 
a child presents 
evidence 
opposing remand; 
trial for 
termination of 
parental rights; a 
hearing on 
petition alleging a 
Class A or B 
felony or 
homicide; or upon 
good cause 
shown, shall be 
conducted only 
by a Judge.  Ore. 
Multnomah Cir. 
SLR 11.035 
 

Pennsylvania In no case shall 
protective 
custody under this 
chapter be 
maintained longer 
than 72 hours 
without an 
informal hearing.  
23 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
§ 6315(d).   

After the petition has 
been filed alleging 
the child to be 
dependent or 
delinquent, the court 
shall fix a time for 
hearing thereon, 
which, if the child is 
in detention or shelter 
care shall not be later 
than ten days after the 
filing of the petition.  
42 Pa.Cons.Stat. § 
6335(a). 

If the court finds 
from clear and 
convincing evidence 
that the child is 
dependent, the court 
shall proceed 
immediately or at a 
postponed hearing, 
which shall occur not 
later than 20 days 
after adjudication if 
the child has been 
removed from his 
home, to make a 
proper disposition of 
the case.  42 
Pa.Cons.Stat. § 
6341(c). 

No time frame 
specified. 

 The court shall 
conduct permanency 
hearings as follows: 
(i) Within six months 
of:  (A) the date of 
the child's removal 
from the child's 
parent, guardian or 
custodian; or (B) 
each previous 
permanency hearing 
until the child is 
returned to the child's 
parent, guardian or 
custodian or removed 
from the jurisdiction 
of the court.  42 
Pa.Cons.Stat. § 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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6351(3). 

Rhode Island A hearing is held 
within 7 days 
from the filing of 
the petition.  R.I. 
Gen. Laws §40-
11-7.1(b)   

Probable cause 
hearing on the ex 
parte petition is held 
as soon as practicable 
but no later than 10 
days from the date of 
the request.  R.I. Gen. 
Laws §40-11-
7.1(b)(5) 

No timeframe in 
statute.   

Within 12 months 
after the child is 
removed the 
department shall 
file a motion 
requesting a 
permanency 
hearing on the 
status of the child.  
R.I. Gen. Laws §40-
11-12.1(a) 

Permanency hearing 
is held not less 
frequently than every 
12 months while 
child is in foster care.  
R.I. Gen. Laws 40-
11-12.1(g) 
If it is determined 
that reasonable 
efforts are not 
required than the 
permanency hearing 
is held within 30 days 
from that 
determination. R.I. 
Gen. Laws §40-11-
12.2(f)(i)   

General 
Magistrate-Hears 
all motions, 
pretrial 
conferences, 
probable case 
hearings, and 
reviews matters 
such as the 
temporary 
placement, 
custody, 
disposition, and 
adoption of 
children. R.I. 
Gen. Laws §8-10-
3.1(b)   
*Note- However, 
it is the primary 
function of the 
general 
magistrate to 
enforce child 
support decrees, 
orders, and law 
relative to child 
support. R.I. Gen. 
Laws §8-10-
3.2(c) 

South Carolina The family court 
shall schedule a 
probable cause 
hearing to be held 
within seventy-
two hours of the 
time the child was 
taken into 
emergency 
protective 
custody. If the 
third day falls 
upon a Saturday, 
Sunday, or 

Upon receipt of a 
removal petition, the 
family court shall 
schedule a hearing to 
be held within thirty-
five days of the date 
of receipt to 
determine whether 
removal is necessary. 
S.C. Code Ann. § 20-
7-736(E). 

No time frame in 
statute. 

A named party, the 
child's guardian ad 
litem, or the local 
foster care review 
board may file a 
motion for review 
of the case at any 
time.  S.C. Code 
Ann. § 20-7-
766(K). 

The permanency 
planning hearing 
must be held no later 
than one year after 
the date the child was 
first placed in foster 
care.  If the child is 
retained in foster care 
pursuant to a plan, 
future permanency 
planning hearings 
must be held at least 
annually. S.C. Code 
Ann.  § 20-7-766(A), 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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holiday, the 
probable cause 
hearing must be 
held no later than 
the next working 
day. S.C. Code 
Ann. § 20-7-
610(M).   

(I)(5). 

South Dakota A child may not 
be held in 
temporary 
custody longer 
than 48 hours 
unless court 
orders longer 
custody during a 
noticed hearing.  
S.D. Codified 
Laws §26-7A-14 

Adjudicatory hearing 
is held immediately 
after an advisory 
hearing.  S.D. 
Codified Laws §26-
7A-82 

Initial dispositional 
hearing may be held 
immediately after the 
adjudicatory hearing.  
S.D. Codified Laws 
§26-7A-87  

Review hearing is 
held every 6 
months.  S.D. 
Codified Laws § 
26-8A-24 

No timeframe in 
statute.  However, a 
permanency hearing 
is held within 30 days 
after adjudication if it 
is determined that 
reasonable efforts are 
not required.  S.D. 
Codified Laws §26-
8A-21.2 

No second tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases.   

Tennessee Preliminary 
hearing is held no 
later than 3 days 
after removal.  
Tenn. Code Ann. 
§37-1-117(c) 

No timeframe in 
statute.   

If the child is found 
dependent or 
neglected, the court 
can proceed 
immediately after the 
adjudicatory hearing 
or at a postponed 
hearing to make a 
proper disposition of 
the case.  Tenn. Code 
Ann. §37-1-129(c)   

The first review 
hearing is held 
ninety days after 
placement in foster 
care and every six 
months thereafter. 
Tenn. Code Ann. 
37-2-406(a)(3) & 
(b) 

Permanency planning 
hearing occurs within 
12 months of the date 
of foster care 
placement.  Tenn. 
Code Ann. §37-2-
409(a) If reasonable 
efforts are not 
required then a 
permanency hearing 
is held within 30 days 
after that 
determination.  Tenn. 
Code Ann. §37-1-
166(g)(5)(A) 

Referee-At the 
judge’s 
discretion, a 
referee can 
preside over any 
case or class of 
cases in the first 
instance of which 
the juvenile court 
has jurisdiction.  
Tenn. Code Ann. 
§37-1-107 

Texas Emergency 
removal hearing 
is held within 24 
hours of the 
removal of the 
child.  TEX. 
FAM. CODE  
§262.102 

Full adversary 
hearing is held within 
14 days of removal.  
TEX. FAM. CODE  
§262.201 

Status hearing is held 
within 30-40 days of 
adversary hearing.  
TEX. FAM. CODE  
§263.201/263.20 

 Initial permanency 
hearing is held within 
three to four months 
of removal and the 
permanency hearing 
is held within six 
months of removal 
and every three 
months to 
permanency.  TEX. 
FAM. CODE  
§263.304 

 

Utah Shelter hearing is 
held within 72 
hours of removal.  
Utah Code Ann. 
§78-3a-306(1).    

A pretrial hearing is 
held within 15 days 
from the date of the 
shelter hearing. 
Adjudication may not 

Dispositional hearing 
may be held on the 
same date as the 
adjudication hearing 
but not later than 30 

A six month review 
hearing is held 
within six months 
of child’s removal 
from home.  Utah 

The permanency 
hearing is held no 
more than 12 months 
after the child’s 
removal or 30 days 

Commissioner – 
quasi-judicial 
officers of courts 
of record and 
have limited 
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be continued for 
more than 60 days 
from the date of the 
shelter hearing. Utah 
Code Ann. §78-3a-
308(1), (2). 

calendar days after 
the adjudication 
hearing.  Utah Code 
Ann. §78-3a-310(2). 

Code Ann. §78-3a-
311.5. 

after the dispositional 
hearing. Utah Code 
Ann. §78-3a-
312(1)(a),(b). 

judicial authority.  
Utah Code Ann. 
§78-3-31.  
Juvenile Court 
Commissioners 
may hear 
detention and 
shelter hearings, 
and any matter as 
assigned by the 
Presiding Judge.  
All 
recommendations 
reviewed by the 
Presiding Judge.  
Jud. Council Rule 
7-102. 

Vermont Within forty-eight 
hours of the filing 
of an order of the 
juvenile court 
under section 
5513 of this title, 
the court shall 
hold a detention 
hearing for the 
sole purpose of 
determining to the 
satisfaction of the 
court that the 
continued 
detention of the 
child would be to 
his best interests 
and welfare or 
that public safety 
and protection 
reasonably 
require such 
detention. The 
court may, in its 
discretion or upon 
good cause 
shown, grant an 
extension of the 
time within which 
such detention 
hearing shall be 
held, but for no 
longer than one 
additional period 

At the time of the 
filing of the petition, 
or the effecting of the 
transfer under section 
5505 of this title, the 
court shall fix a time 
for a hearing thereon, 
which, if the child is 
in detention or shelter 
care, shall not be later 
than fifteen days after 
the filing thereof.  33 
VT Stat. Ann. § 
5519(a).   

After making such 
findings of 
delinquency or that a 
child is in need of 
care or supervision, 
the court shall then 
fix a date, hour and 
place for a 
continuation of the 
hearing, for the 
purpose of then 
considering the 
disposition to be 
made in the 
proceedings. In the 
case of a finding that 
a child is in need of 
care or supervision 
the continuance of 
the hearing may be 
held immediately 
upon that finding but 
in no event shall the 
disposition hearing be 
held later than thirty 
days after the finding.  
33 VT Stat. Ann. § 
5526(b). 

No time frame 
specified. 

Every order 
transferring legal 
custody, guardianship 
or residual parental 
rights over the person 
shall be reviewed at a 
permanency hearing 
that shall be held 
every 12 months with 
the first hearing to be 
held after the earlier 
of the following 
dates: 
   (1) the date of the 
order entered under 
section 5526 of this 
title; or 
   (2) 60 days after the 
date the custody of 
the child was initially 
transferred. 
 
At the request of any 
party or on the court's 
own motion, the 
initial and any 
subsequent 
permanency hearings 
may be held every 
three months for 
children who were 
younger than three 
years of age at the 
time of the order and 
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of twenty-four 
hours.  33 VT. 
Stat. Ann. 33 § 
5515(a). 

every six months for 
children who were 
between the ages of 
three and six years at 
the time of the order. 
Upon request or 
motion for review of 
a younger sibling, the 
court shall review the 
order of disposition 
of all siblings in the 
custody of the 
commissioner. In no 
event shall any such 
order remain in force 
or effect beyond the 
minority of the child.  
33 VT Stat. Ann. § 
5531(a). 

Virginia Emergency 
removal hearing 
held within 72 
hours and 
preliminary 
removal hearing 
held within five 
days of removal.  
VA. CODE ANN. 
§16.1-251 

Adjudication hearing 
within 30 days of 
preliminary removal 
hearing.  VA. CODE 
ANN. §16.1-277.02 

Disposition hearing 
held within 75 days 
of preliminary 
removal hearing.  
VA. CODE ANN. 
§16.1-278.3 

Review hearing is 
held within six 
months of 
disposition hearing. 

Permanency planning 
hearing is held within 
11 months of 
disposition hearing.   

 

Washington A shelter care 
hearing must be 
held within 72 
hours after the 
child is removed, 
excluding 
weekends and 
holidays.  Wash 
Rev. Code 
§13.34.060(1)(b). 

Adjudication hearing 
must be held no later 
than 75 days after the 
filing of a petition.  
Wash. Rev. Code § 
13.34.070(1). 

A disposition  
hearing may be held 
immediately after 
adjudication, with 
continuance up to 14 
days.  Wash. Rev. 
Code § 13.34.110(3). 

The initial review 
hearing is held 
within six months 
from removal and 
no more than 90 
days after the 
disposition order, 
and every six 
months thereafter.  
Wash. Rev. Code § 
13.34.138(1). 

Permanency planning 
hearing is held where 
child is in out-of-
home care for nine 
months or more and 
no more than 12 
months from 
removal.  Wash. Rev. 
Code § 13.34.145(3). 

There may be 
appointed by the 
judges of the 
superior court 
having 
jurisdiction 
therein, one or 
more court 
commissioners. 
Each such 
commissioner 
shall hold the 
office during the 
pleasure of the 
judges making the 
appointment. 
Wash. Rev. Stat. 
§ 2.24.010. 
 
Such court 
commissioner 
shall have power, 
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authority, and 
jurisdiction, 
concurrent with 
the superior court 
and the judge 
thereof, in the 
following 
particulars: To act 
as referee in all 
matters and 
actions referred to 
him or her by the 
superior court as 
such, with all the 
powers now 
conferred upon 
referees by law; 
To hear and 
determine all 
proceedings 
supplemental to 
execution, with 
all the powers 
conferred upon 
the judge of the 
superior court in 
such matters. 
To hear and 
determine all 
petitions for the 
adoption of 
children; 
To hear and 
determine all 
complaints for the 
commitments of 
minors with all 
powers conferred 
upon the superior 
court in such 
matters. Wash. 
Rev. Stat. § 
2.24.040(4), (5), 
(6), (8). 

Washington, D.C. The shelter care 
hearing is held 
within 24 hours 
of removal.  An 
initial hearing is 
held within 24 
hours of removal 

Adjudication hearing 
is held within 45 days 
if the child is left in 
the home or within 
105 days if child is in 
foster care.  D.C. 
CODE ANN. 

Disposition hearing is 
held at the 
completion of the 
adjudication, upon 
good cause shown 
may be extended for 
15 days after 

A review hearing is 
held within six 
months of 
disposition and 
every six months 
thereafter.  D.C. 
CODE ANN. 

The permanency 
hearing is held within 
14 months of 
removal.  D.C. 
CODE ANN. 
§16.2323 
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or within five 
days of filing a 
petition for 
children not to be 
removed. D.C. 
CODE ANN. 
§16.2312 and 
§16.2308. 

§16.2316.01 adjudication.  D.C. 
CODE ANN. 
§16.2316.01 

§16.2323 

West Virginia If an emergency 
removal, the 
worker shall 
“forthwith 
appear” before 
the court and 
immediately 
apply for an order 
ratifying the 
emergency 
custody.  W. Va. 
Code §49-6-3(c) 
 
Upon the filing of 
a petition, the 
court may order 
the child to be 
placed in 
temporary 
custody not more 
than 10 days 
pending a 
preliminary 
hearing.  W. Va. 
Code §49-6-3(a) 

Hearings shall be 
held as nearly as 
practicable on 
successive days.  
Hearings held at the 
end of an 
improvement period 
are held within 60 
days from the 
termination of the 
improvement period.  
W. Va. Code §49-6-
2(d) 

No timeframe in 
statute. 

12 months after 
placement, the 
agency must 
petition the court 
for review.  W. Va. 
Code §49-6-8(a) 

Held within 12 
months after 12 
month review 
hearing.  W. Va. Code 
§49-6-8(b) 

Juvenile Referee-
Performs duties 
assigned by the 
circuit court 
judge.  However, 
referees cannot 
conduct hearings 
on the merits of 
any case.  W. Va. 
Code §49-5A-1 

Wisconsin If a child who has 
been taken into 
custody is not 
released, a 
hearing to 
determine 
whether the child 
shall continue to 
be held in custody 
shall be 
conducted by the 
judge or a circuit 
court 
commissioner 
within 48 hours 
of the time the 
decision to hold 
the child was 

Except as provided in 
this subsection, the 
hearing to determine 
whether any party 
wishes to contest an 
allegation that the 
child or unborn child 
is in need of 
protection or services 
shall take place on a 
date which allows 
reasonable time for 
the parties to prepare 
but is within 30 days 
after the filing of a 
petition for a child or 
an expectant mother 
who is not being held 

At the close of the 
fact-finding hearing, 
the court shall set a 
date for the 
dispositional hearing 
which allows a 
reasonable time for 
the parties to prepare 
but is no more than 
10 days after the fact-
finding hearing for a 
child in secure 
custody and no more 
than 30 days after the 
fact-finding hearing 
for a child or 
expectant mother 
who is not held in 

The court or a panel 
appointed shall 
review the 
permanency plan in 
the manner 
provided in this 
subsection not later 
than 6 months after 
the date on which 
the child was first 
removed from his 
or her home and 
every 6 months 
after a previous 
review under this 
subsection for as 
long as the child is 
placed outside the 

The court shall hold a 
hearing to review the 
permanency plan and 
to make the 
determinations 
specified in sub. (5) 
(c) no later than 12 
months after the date 
on which the child 
was first removed 
from the home and 
every 12 months after 
a previous hearing 
under this subsection 
for as long as the 
child is placed 
outside the home.  
Wis. Stat. § 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 
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made, excluding 
Saturdays, 
Sundays, and 
legal holidays. 
Wis Stat. § 
48.21(a). 

in secure custody or 
within 10 days after 
the filing of a petition 
for a child who is 
being held in secure 
custody.  Wis. Stat. § 
48.30(1). 

secure custody. If all 
parties consent, the 
court may 
immediately proceed 
with a dispositional 
hearing.  Wis. Stat. § 
48.31(7)(a). 

home.  Wis. Stat. § 
48.38(5)(a). 

48.38(5m)(a). 

Wyoming When a child is 
taken into 
temporary 
protective 
custody without a 
court order or 
under an ex parte 
emergency order, 
a petition as 
provided in W.S. 
14-3-412 shall be 
promptly filed 
and presented to 
the court. An 
informal shelter 
care hearing shall 
be held as soon as 
reasonably 
possible not later 
than forty-eight 
(48) hours, 
excluding 
weekends and 
legal holidays, 
after the child is 
taken into 
temporary 
protective 
custody to 
determine if 
further shelter 
care is required 
pending further 
court action. 
Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 
14-3-409(a).  

The parents, guardian 
or custodian shall be 
given an opportunity 
to admit or deny the 
allegations in the 
petition. If the 
allegations are 
denied, the court shall 
set a time not to 
exceed sixty (60) 
days for an 
adjudicatory hearing, 
unless the court finds 
good cause to delay 
or postpone the 
hearing. In no case 
shall the court hold 
the adjudicatory 
hearing more than 
ninety (90) days after 
the date the petition is 
filed.  Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. § 14-3-409(c).  

If after an 
adjudicatory hearing 
or a valid admission 
or confession the 
court or jury finds 
that a child is 
neglected, it shall 
enter a decree to that 
effect stating the 
jurisdictional facts 
upon which the 
decree is based. It 
may then proceed 
immediately or at a 
postponed hearing 
within sixty (60) days 
to make proper 
disposition of the 
child.  Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. § 14-3-426(c). 

The court shall 
conduct a review 
hearing six (6) 
months from the 
date of the child's 
removal from the 
home, twelve (12) 
months from the 
date of the child's 
removal from the 
home, and not less 
than once every 
twelve (12) months 
thereafter.  Wyo. 
Stat. Ann. § 14-3-
431(c). 

The court shall 
conduct a 
permanency hearing 
no later than twelve 
(12) months from the 
date of the child’s 
removal from the 
home and not less 
than once every 
twelve (12) months 
thereafter if the child 
remains in  out-of-
home placement or 
more frequently as 
deemed necessary by 
the court.  Wyo. Stat. 
Ann. § 14-3-431(d). 

No second-tier 
judicial officers 
for child 
protection cases. 

 


