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I. Nebraska Supreme Court Rule
2. Nebraska Statutes
3. Nebraska and other Case Law

4. Federal: Adoption and Safe
Families Act and regulations

We will consider some time
deadlines and progression
requirements in abuse & neglect
cases.

The Nebraska
Juvenile
Code
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Whenever a juvenile is detained or

placed under N.R.S. 43-250 or 43-
253 (Reissue 2008), the juvenile
shall be released unconditionally
within 48 hours , excluding
nonjudicial days, unless:

1. a Petition has been filed alleging
violation of a juvenile court order,
2. a Petition has been filed under
N.R.S. 43-274, e.g. 43-247 (1),
(2), (3) or (4), or

3. a Criminal Complaint has been
filed in a court of competent
jurisdiction. N.R.S. 43-255
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Abuse & Neglect Cases:

Protective Custody aka
“Detention” Hearing delay of
14 days between entry of ex
parte order and hearing
brought procedures to brink
of unreasonableness.

In re Interest of R.G., 238
Neb. 405, 470 N.W.2d 780
(1991)

When a child is removed from his or
her home, a judicial determination as
to whether reasonable efforts were
made, or were not required, to
prevent removal must be made no
later than 60 days from the date the
child is removed from his home. If
this determination is not made, the
child is not eligible for Title IV-E foster
care payments for the duration of that
stay in foster care. 45 C.F.R.
§1356.21(b)(1).
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All cases filed under 43-247
(3)(a) shall have an
adjudication hearing not more
than 90 days after the
Petition was filed. Directory
not mandatory. Continuance
on good cause.

N.R.S. 43-278 (Reissue 2008)
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If a Petition under N.R.S. 43-
247 (3)(a) is found true, then
a Dispositional Hearing shall

occur in a reasonable time.

N.R.S.43-279.01 (4) (Reissue
2008) '-
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The court shall review every
case adjudicated (found true)
under 43-247 (3)(a) and (b)
not less than once every six
months.

N.R.S. 43-278 (Reissue 2008)
& ASFA
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No later than 12 months after the date a
child enters foster care, each child shall
have a permanency hearing by the court.
The court shall decide the permanency
plan and whether/when the child will be:

a. Returned to the parent

b. Referred to the state for filing a
petition for termination of parental rights
c. Placed for adoption

d. Referred for guardianship, or

in cases where HHS has documented a
compelling reason not in bic to return
home, refer for TPR, place for adoption, or
place with a guardian. N.R.S. 43-1312
(Reissue 2008)
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If reasonable efforts to preserve &
reunify the family are not required
because of a court decision, the
court shall hold a permanency
hearing within 30 days as
provided in N.R.S 43-1312 & 43-
283.01 (5) (Reissue 2008)

This is required anytime the finding
is made—even day one at the
Protective Custody Hearing.
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Within 30 days after the 15t
month a child has been in foster
care, the court shall hold a hearing
on the record and determine if
there is an exception under N.R.S.
43-292.02(3) (Reissue 2008):

1. The child is being cared for by a
relative (not an absolute defense)
2. Compelling reason

3. Family has not had a reasonable
opportunity to avail themselves of
services

(See: N.R.S. 43-292.03 (Reissue
2008)
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6-103. Time for disposition of
juvenile cases:

A) Notwithstanding any federal or
state law providing for a longer
period, the juvenile shall not be
held in detention for more than 48
hours without a probable cause
hearing being conducted by the
appropriate judicial authority.
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B) Adjudication hearings in
dependent/neglect cases under Neb. Rev.
Stat. § 43-247(3)(a) should be held within 90
days of filing of the petition, except in cases
with exceptional complications, in which
cases adjudication should be held within 180
days. Adjudication hearings in law violation
cases should be held within 180 days of
filing of the petition.

(C) A disposition hearing should be held
within 60 days from the date of the
adjudication hearing, unless good cause is
shown.

(D) Review hearings for children in out-of-
home placements should be held, on the
record, every 6 months

Nebraska Supreme Court Commission
on Children in the Courts’
recommendations—will be conveyed to
Supreme Court

Time between a child’s removal
and the first Temporary Custody
hearing—10 days

Time between the filing of a petition
and the commencement of an
adjudication hearing—60 days

Good cause exceptions recognize
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lll.Time between Adjudication &

Disposition: 45 Calendar days

IV. Time between Motion/Petition for
TPR and the TPR Hearing—90
calendar days

V. From Submission of case to
decision-- ____ days
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A child was placed in HHS
Protective Custody due to parental
mental health/substance abuse and
failure to provide proper parental
care.

The matter comes on the a
Protective Custody Hearing on the
7th day after removal from the
parental home. The judge gave the
D & R advisory, granted supervised
visitation, and continued the
hearing for two weeks to give the
parties more time to prepare.
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Parent’s defense attorney moves to
dismiss for failure to have a timely
Protective Custody Hearing and
requests that the child be returned
to the parent.

What is a reasonable time to have
a Protective Custody Hearing?

What is the best practice
timeframe to have the Protective

Custody Hearing? Why?
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What finding must you have made in the

ex parte temporary custody & removal
order?

Assume there was a Protective Custody
Hearing. The child was ordered to remain
in HHS foster care. Supervised visitation
was granted. Adjudication was set 90 days
from the date of placement into foster
care.

Is there a deadline for any other findings
prior to 90 days?

What is it?

What finding must be made?

What happens if the finding is not made?
Who is responsible for this?
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A child has been in foster care
for 15 months.

What hearing is supposed to
happen under NE statute and
ASFA? By when?

What is happening in your
jurisdiction regarding children
in foster care for 15 months?
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A child has been in foster care
for almost 12 months.

What hearing does the state
and federal law require?

Who is responsible to have
this hearing set?

What happens if the hearing

does not occur?
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After hearing evidence in a

TPR cause of action, the
parties rest. The judge takes
the matter under advisement.

When must the judge decide
the case?

Any case?
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An infant has been in HHS
foster care due to parental
neglect in failing to provide
for the infant’s special medical
needs. After 15 month
Hearing, and a finding of no
exception, a TRP is filed within
30days as required by statute
and ASFA.

What is the deadline to start,
complete the trial, & decide
the TPR issue?

Who is responsible for this?

What can you do to improve
and ensure the law is
followed?

If your grandchild was in
foster care, would your view
of timely hearings and

decisions be different?

What gets in the way of
timely hearings?

What can you do as a judge,
attorney, CFSS, FCRB, CASA,
to change this?
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Meaningful and Timely Hearings:

Resource Guidelines & Adoption
and Permanency Planning
Guidelines

No Continuance Policy

Prompt Decision Making Based on
the Law & Evidence

The Judge leads by example—and
so does everyone else!

Ongoing Training & Collaboration

Treating these children and parents
like your family cuts through a lot
of non-sense and waste of time

NCJFC]

JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT JUDGES

-

Join the National
Council of Juvenile &
Family Court Judges!
Non-judges are
welcome too!!
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73rd NCJFCJ
Annual
Conference

San Diego, CA
July 18-21, 2010

402-444-7881
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