Teams

Teams

(Click the above map for districts and teams as well as lead CIP project specialist.) 

Over 25 multidisciplinary local teams across Nebraska meet regularly to address systemic issues in their child welfare court system. Each team is led by a Lead Judge and Team Coordinator, and is typically comprised of County Attorneys, parents’ attorneys, Guardians ad Litem, DHHS administrators, supervisors, and caseworkers, facilitators/mediators, CASA, Foster Care Review Office members, therapists, clerk magistrates, probation, law enforcement, schools, youth and foster parents. The teams create their own action plans, which include projects and goals to improve the juvenile court system, and then meet regularly to ensure those goals are being accomplished.

Each year, it is estimated that team members donate over 750 hours of their time working on issues as part of their local teams. Not only do teams meet regularly but many also host special events, such as the National Reunification Day, National Adoption Day or Lecture Series, and participate in other systemic improvement activities. In addition to their collaboration as a local team, the teams also collaborate with state staff and other local teams statewide through conferences, trainings, data assessments and other activities.

Many teams have been recognized over the years through the Spotlight Team articles.  Some team activities have also been discussed in the Spotlight Issue section.  

Below are a list of the local teams and their leadership.  Some team sections also contain documents or materials developed as part of their goals or projects.

Click here to view the 2012 Team Summaries

1st District (Beatrice)

1st District (Beatrice)
1st District (Beatrice)

Lead Judge: Hon. Curtis Maschman, curtis.maschman@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Cheryl Johnson, cheryl.johnson@nebraska.gov

2nd District-Otoe and Cass County

2nd District-Otoe and Cass County
2nd District-Otoe and Cass County
Lead Judge: Hon. Bob O'Neal, boneal@sarpy.com
Team Coordinator: Mari Jackson, otoe.casa@windstream.net

2nd District-Sarpy County

2nd District-Sarpy County
2nd District-Sarpy County
Lead Judge: Hon. Bob O'Neal, boneal@sarpy.com
Team Coordinator: Sandra Markley, smarkley@sarpy.com

3rd District-Lancaster County

3rd District-Lancaster County
3rd District-Lancaster County
Lead Judge: Hon. Linda Porter, lporter@lancaster.ne.gov
Team Coordinator: April Kirkendall, akirkendall@legalaidofnebraska.com
Team News:

4th District-Omaha

4th District-Omaha
4th District-Omaha
Lead Judge: Hon. Elizabeth Crnkovich
Team Coordinators: Cindy Tierney, ctierney@concord-center.com
Team News:

5th District (Hamilton, Seward, and York)

5th District (Hamilton, Seward, and York)
5th District (Hamilton, Seward, and York)
Lead Judge: Hon. Linda Caster Senff and Hon. C. Jo Petersen
Team Coordinator: Gale Jungeman-Shulz, galejs@bvca.net

5th District-Team 2 (Butler, Colfax, Platte, and Saunders)

5th District-Team 2 (Butler, Colfax, Platte, and Saunders)
5th District-Team 2 (Butler, Colfax, Platte, and Saunders)

Lead Judge: Hon. Patrick McDermott
Team Coordinator: 

5th District-Team 3 (Boone, Merrick, Nance, and Polk)

5th District-Team 3 (Boone, Merrick, Nance, and Polk)
5th District-Team 3 (Boone, Merrick, Nance, and Polk)

Lead Judge: Hon. Stephen Twiss, stephen.twiss@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: 

6th District-Team 1 (Fremont area)

6th District-Team 1 (Fremont area)
6th District-Team 1 (Fremont area)

6th District-Team 2 (S. Sioux/Dakota City area)

6th District-Team 2 (S. Sioux/Dakota City area)
6th District-Team 2 (S. Sioux/Dakota City area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Kurt Rager, kurt.rager@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinators: Kelli Smith, kelli.smith@nebraska.gov; Kelly Wandishion, kelly.wandishion@nebraska.gov

7th District (Norfolk area)

7th District (Norfolk area)
7th District (Norfolk area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Ross Stoffer, ross.stoffer@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinators: Kim Seelmeyer, kim.seelmeyer@nebraska.gov
Team News:

8th District-Team 1 (Valentine area)

8th District-Team 1 (Valentine area)
8th District-Team 1 (Valentine area)
Lead Judge: Hon. James Orr, james.orr@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Suzy Beel, suznbeel@yahoo.com

8th District-Team 2 (O'Neill area)

8th District-Team 2 (O'Neill area)
8th District-Team 2 (O'Neill area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Alan Brodbeck, alan.brodbeck@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinators: Rodney Smith, rwsmithlaw@gmail.com

8th District-Team 3 (Broken Bow area)

8th District-Team 3 (Broken Bow area)
8th District-Team 3 (Broken Bow area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Tami Schendt, tami.schendt@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinators: Valerie Harris, fvsdva1@hotmail.com

9th District-Hall County

9th District-Hall County
9th District-Hall County
Lead Judge: Hon. Philip Martin, philipm@hallcountyne.gov
Team Coordinator: Tami Gangwish, tgangwish@futuresfs.net
Team News:

9th District-Buffalo County

9th District-Buffalo County
9th District-Buffalo County

Lead Judge: Hon. Gerald Jorgensen, gerald.jorgensen@nebraska.gov

Team Coordinator: Kacee Zimmerman, kacee.zimmerman@nebraska.gov

Team News:

Seven Nebraska Courts Celebrate National Adoption Day

10th District-Team West (Phelps, Harlan, Franklin and Kearney Counties)

10th District-Team West (Phelps, Harlan, Franklin and Kearney Counties)
10th District-Team West (Phelps, Harlan, Franklin and Kearney Counties)

Lead Judge: Hon. Hoeft

Team Coordinator: Darrie Streeter, darrie.streeter@nebraska.gov

10th District-Team Central (Adams and Webster Counties)

10th District-Team Central (Adams and Webster Counties)
10th District-Team Central (Adams and Webster Counties)

10th District-Team East (Clay, Fillmore and Nuckolls Counties)

10th District-Team East (Clay, Fillmore and Nuckolls Counties)
10th District-Team East (Clay, Fillmore and Nuckolls Counties)

Lead Judge: Hon. Michael Burns

Team Coordinator: Cindy Carrigan, cindy.carrigan@nebraska.gov

11th District-Team 1 (Lexington area)

11th District-Team 1 (Lexington area)
11th District-Team 1 (Lexington area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Jeffrey Wightman, jeffrey.wightman@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Dee Hudson, coolmodee43@gmail.com

11th District-Team 2 (Ogallala area)

11th District-Team 2 (Ogallala area)
11th District-Team 2 (Ogallala area)

Lead Judge: Hon. Edward Steenburg

11th District-Team 3 (McCook area)

11th District-Team 3 (McCook area)
11th District-Team 3 (McCook area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Anne Paine, anne.paine@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Linda Smith, linda.k.smith@nebraska.gov
Files: 

11th District-Team 4 (North Platte)

11th District-Team 4 (North Platte)
11th District-Team 4 (North Platte)
Lead Judge: Hon. Kent Turnbull, kent.turnbull@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Amanda Speichert, aspeichert@flatrocklaw.com

12th District-Team 1 (Alliance/Chadron area)

12th District-Team 1 (Alliance/Chadron area)

12th District-Team 2 (Sidney area)

12th District-Team 2 (Sidney area)
12th District-Team 2 (Sidney area)
Lead Judge: Hon. Randin Roland, randin.roland@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: 

12th District-Scottsbluff

12th District-Scottsbluff
12th District-Scottsbluff
Lead Judge: Hon. James Worden, james.worden@nebraska.gov
Team Coordinator: Katherine Batt, katherine.batt@nebraska.gov
Team News:

Winnebago Tribal Court

Winnebago Tribal Court
Winnebago Tribal Court

Lead Judge: Hon. Patrick Runge, patrickrunge@gmail.com